There is a belief that people should produce food within their countries and reduce imports from overseas. This essay moderately agrees with the potential benefits of local food production as it would keep local farmers in demand, but this idea does not take into account the disproportional distribution of nutrients around the world.

There is a belief that people should produce food within their countries and reduce imports from overseas. This essay moderately agrees with the potential benefits of local food production as it would keep local farmers in demand, but this idea does not take into account the disproportional distribution of nutrients around the world. It is doubtless that with the development of refrigerated containerships and logistic ways, an international trade of food becomes a common thing. It is also not surprising that this resulted in the decreased cost for export and import of goods between countries. Today you can meet the same products on the shelves of supermarkets across Europe, US and Asia almost for the same prices. Hence, as customers having such an access to the global market, local farmers are dealing with more competition with foreign producers and losing the demand in the local community. On the other hand, the difference in the climate and soil quality across the world limits some countries from essential nutrients for human health. Perhaps, not all exotic fruits and foreign fancy products should be continuously imported, but it is clear that countries located in extreme north or deserted areas cannot harvest food all year round, if not at all. Therefore, an the import of food from other nations becomes very handy to fulfill the basic needs of people who can’t feed themselves. To sum up the aforementioned arguments, despite of being a supporter of the local production, I can’t ignore the importance of international food trade, which sustains the needs of countries that geographically less fortunate and unable to produce food for their population.