Cons and pros of modern life

The twentieth century has seen many great changes taken place that led to modern life. Living in the modern world has certain benefits such as a higher standard of living and more convenience; however, it also has some drawbacks such as environmental damage and, Emotional stuntedness. A number of different factors contribute to a high standard of living, such as access to never-ending knowledge and reduction of manual labor. To commence, accessing information has brought great benefits to people, the internet helps people gain access to the sheer volume and scope of knowledge. In addition, reduced household chores are another plus point of modern life. There are a lot of devices or machines that have brought about more convenience and meet the specific needs of people. For instance, washing machines do our laundry. Yet in spite of all of these amazing advantages, there are some significant disadvantages that modern people. Firstly, in modern life, there are some environmental problems, since we have become consumerists and we don’t care about the effects of our consumption, and this issue results in environmental problems such as pollution and waste disposal and so on. Additionally, another downside of living in the modern world is the increasing psychological problem, Modern life is associated with many mental illnesses such as depression, stress, anxiety due to competitive life to have more. On balance, in the light of this evidence, it is clear that living in modern brings not only great benefits but also many drawbacks that the modern world should fix for the continuation of life.