Traffic congestion is a problem that citizens in many cities and urban areas struggle with. What are the main problems that traffic congestion causes workers, business people and students? How can these be solved?

There is a growing concern that traffic jams have caused numerous negative effects in many cities and urban areas. While several problems have resulted from this tendency, there are a range of solutions that can be applied to resolve some of the serious issues which have arisen. One of the major issues related to this is that being stuck in traffic results in unproductive time. People will be late for work or school and this will cause anger in a person. Moreover, people are more likely to drive aggressively when they are late and this will increase the rate of accidents. Another serious problem is that people will run a higher risk of suffering from many physical health problems. Firstly, traffic congestion can lead to large amounts of emissions and exhaust fumes from cars and motorbikes. Being stuck in traffic for long hours with dust and smog from various kinds of transport can exacerbate people’s health problems such as lung diseases. Secondly, toxic gasses emitted from motor vehicles can jeopardise our environment by damaging natural resources like water pollution or air pollution. And this will have an indirect impact on people's daily lives. For instance, if air is contaminated, it will increase the risk of respiratory infections, heart disease and lung cancer. One solution to these problems is for people not to use their own private cars. Instead, they should be encouraged to use public transportation like buses and trains. This is because a bus is a very efficient way to take a lot of people from one place to another, which just only uses one vehicle. This measure can reduce the amount of cars on the road, so it can curb traffic congestion. Another viable solution to this problem would be for people to use carpool and vehicle sharing. Everyone always commutes by using their own car on a daily basis. The more people driving on their own, the more traffic jams occur, especially during rush hour. Carpooling is a very good option to reduce the number of vehicles on the road. To conclude, since traffic congestion is an intense problem to many countries it certainly has many negative impacts on humans. It consumes so much time and aggravates our health and environment. Therefore, many efficient measures can taken by the government and citizens in order to solve this long-term problem