There have been many advances in technology over the past fifty years. These have revolutionised the way we communicate with people who are far away. Compare and contrast methods of communication used today with those which were used in the past.

Technology advancements have improved the lives of every individual from a child to an adult. These have entirely changed the way of communication. There is a huge disparity between methods of communication used today with those which were used in the past. To begin with, earlier people had less modes to communicate. Moreover, these modes were not much efficient. For instance, one of methods was through a letter which approximately took a month to reach it’s destination. However in those times people were much closer to each other even if they lived miles apart as they would eagerly wait for the letters from their friends and family. On the other hand, with the technological developments it has become much easier to communicate. Using smart phones or through Internet one can convey his message at any time and from any place. To exemplify mobile applications like WhatsApp or FaceTime allow people to communicate with audio and video. Although, new communication methods have brought the people closer but it have increased the difference between the ones who live in the same house. For example a study conducted by time magazine shown that children have less cordial relation with their parents because of less communication as they prefer using their phones in free time. To conclude, few decades back there was lack of communication methods but strong relations, today every person have easy access to communication yet no individual is willing to communicate.