There have been a number of changes in how retail businesses operate over the last 30 or so years. Compare and contrast the methods retail businesses use now with those in the past.

With the development of time, the sales model of retail enterprises has changed a lot. Today's sales model has many more online sales channels than in the past. In the past, all kinds of goods and materials were relatively scarce, and people needed to go to places like department stores and supermarkets to buy necessities. At the same time, due to economic restrictions, retail department stores for high-end products are also relatively rare. Most supermarkets mainly sell low-priced ordinary daily necessities. Now with the development of technology and the improvement of people's consumption level, online shopping has become a more convenient sales model. For sellers, the cost of opening an online store is lower than that of offline stores, which can eliminate the expenses such as shop rentals and utilities. For consumers, online shopping is more convenient. They can find all kinds of goods just by sliding the mobile phone screen. In short, the retail industry should adapt to the continuous progress of social development. If the sales model cannot keep up with the demand of consumers, it may be eliminated.