There has been a great increase in the number and varieties of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students. However, other students see these classes as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course.

The recent upsurge in the amount of online classes available to adults has been viewed by some pupil as a welcomed development, while others believes classroom teaching is much more productive. Consequently, the merits of online classes such as convenience, effective management of time and resources, as well as the lack of physical presence superceed any drawback it might have. To begin with, one prime benefit of online course is in the convenience with which one can learn. A student can sit in the comfort of their home while class is ongoing. In fact, this can be in the bedroom not necessarily a study. In addition, online classes affords the opportunity of making good use of time and resources such as money. Furthermore, daily schedules can be planned around the classes, while pupils who are mostly adults can seek for employment opportunities to foot their school bills. For instance, a survey conducted by the National Student Union in 2019 revealed that 80% of adults running online courses are also gainfully employed. On the flip side, studying online is not without it's demerits. One of such drawbacks is the lack of physical interaction between the teachers and the students which is being enjoyed in the classroom. It is widely believed that so much knowledge can be garnered from the tutor's body language. More so, knowledge sharing amongst pupils can be better achieved via classroom teachings and subsequently, extra classes such as tutorials can be organized. To conclude, online classes are plagued with demerits such as lack of physical contact and interaction that is being enjoyed during class room teachings despite its obvious benefits.