In the last decade, there has been an increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. While welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, other students see these courses as a poor substitute for classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

For the past ten years, it is an undeniable fact that the trend of pursuing education utilizing online courses has gained in popularity. Like in everything else, this issue has many benefits, besides its drawbacks, and this essay discusses both of them. It can be said that online studies have some noteworthy positive effects. One strength of online education over traditional learning is convenience. One just needs the Internet and a computer or a mobile phone to attend the courses. The desired courses can be studied in learners' suitable time and it gives them great opportunities to accumulate their erudition in their own space. Studying in online courses is also promising the terms of study to learn in their paces and their self-paced learning. If you are not a quick learner, you can revise the lessons as many times as you want. Despite all aforementioned benefits, several drawbacks do exist. One primary handicap of distance learning is the technical limitations. For instance, some students have difficulties because they live in areas that do not have the internet. Another case is that if the software or the Internet connection is not good, one cannot continue his or her lessons. Another matter of online education is that their social growth can be stunted. In the online course, one always studies alone, so it means some students may lack face-to-face interaction. To exemplify, a student who learns in the online course will not have peers to talk or discuss what they learned. While in the formal classes, they can learn both from the teachers and their classmates. In conclusion, it is, therefore, safe to say that distance learning has both pros and cons. The advantages are fairly clear that attendants can conveniently; however, the lack of interaction and the availability of the Internet remain problems. One should consider its upsides and downsides to determine what kind of option is a better choice.