There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

For the development of a nation, Education plays a vital role. In last couple of years there is a surcharge of students enrolling in universities. Some believes that these students will play a part in excelling the country while others claim that this is a negative approach and will minimize the standards of studies. For sake of education, participating in a university have advantages far significant than disadvantages. In the following paragraphs I will shed more light on it. Foremost benefit of scoring more admissions in higher institutes is that a country will acquire valuable assets of responsible citizens. Who will create an atmosphere where for every field of life a specialized person would be available and therefor nation would be progressive faster. By taking a look at Israel, which is a country with large number of PhD degree holder in the world, we can see that most of the new discoveries in science are made by this tiny land. Furthermore, first parameter to judge a country is to look at its literacy rate, and it will be defiantly at peak with more number of students in universities. As an illustration, we can look at the example of Finland, it's a country with highest rate of educated people and in returns we can see its successful economy. The enormous drawback of having more number of students in university is that it will be difficult to create jobs according to the education of people. Moreover, there would be a decrease in skill worker category of the country as by studying more, no one would be willing to do a job that does not matches with its curricular vitae with impressive degrees. For example, Canada is a country who is opening its boarders for immigration of butchers, farmers and truck drivers to meet up the requirement of market as its own population is cited as with higher university degrees who lacks lower skilled needs. To recapitulate, education is a key to success and by gaining more students in this genre would rank a country on the top of the world. However, there are certain job deficiencies that higher education will create but with great care this can be overcome. Sample Answer - Task 2 Over the last century, tertiary education has become available to more people than ever before. Although this can be beneficial for individuals and for society as a whole, some people argue that the growth in student numbers is having a negative impact on the standard of education. The worldwide expansion of tertiary education has been a positive trend for those involved. It has enabled more people to realise their capabilities, gain a qualification and pursue a career that interests them. Furthermore, jobs that require a tertiary education are often well paid and thus allow those people to enjoy a higher quality of life. This in turn helps to raise the standard of living of society through economic development. However, the growing availability of further education also has some drawbacks. A growth in student numbers has at times led to much larger classes. As a result, teachers are often too busy to give sufficient attention to their students. In some cases this may cause a drop in standards and this could make it easier for students to pass. Thus, universities are in danger of being seen as “degree factories” in which the quantity of students rates higher than the quality of education. In conclusion, a university education can be a significant and positive step in a person’s life and should therefore be available to everyone. However, universities will need to ensure that the quality of education they deliver is not compromised by the growth in student numbers.