Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams are used by schools and universities? What other type of assessment are possible?

In many countries it is applied that traditional method of asses students at the end of every semester. In order that determine the academic level of students, educational institutions are applying these formal exams to students. Although formal examination are applied in many countries, there are many other alternative to examine students, including essay writing and project making as a group. They are using these examination method so as to knowing what students have learned. One of the reason that written examination take less time than many other methods for assessing students’ academic level. On top of that educators are finding that with the writing examination type all students have equal conditions. For example In Turkey students are assessment from the same questions and they are given same time and conditions during the examination. It is for reasons that formal examinations are still widely used in schools and universities today. Formal examinations are not the only way to measure students’ performance: there are a variety of way measure that are not formal assessment. Instead of writing exams, students could have a group project at the end of the semester. Thus they can be more creative. In addition they could have essay writing whether they share their knowledge. One of best assessment that I had at university creating a new aircraft engine. This was less formal but excellent way for me to learn. To conclude, significant number of countries use formal methods for checking students’ knowledge by the end of the semester. These formal examinations commonly use by different universities. Because they are evaluating students fairly with these methods. In spite of formal assessment, there are other ways which are more productive and creative to examine students.