You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Write at least 250 words. Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There has been a constant debate on the various methods by which the crime rate can be controlled. While some are in favor of putting the criminals behind the bars for a longer time period, I opine with those who feel that there are other humane methods that can be used to curb down this unsocial behavior. Those who are in favor of the former view might give a reason that criminals should pay for their bad deeds. The best method of doing that is by granting them longer sentences in jails. This will not only make them realize their mistake, but also will present a good example for others who wish to do the same crime. For instance, In Middle East countries, there are tough punishments even for petty mistakes which in turn demotivates others to perform the same act. Furthermore, longer sentences will also help the government with the workforce and these can be employed in various construction work. If there will be a short time in prison, prisoners will not take it seriously and there is possibility of committing the same act again. However, I feel there are various different ways in which the government can curtail the crime rates such as by imposing heavy monetary fines. Most of the people who commit a crime might belong to the low socio-economic class which is destitute. By high cash fines will demotivate them to perform an unsocial activity. Futhermore, the money collected from such fines might be as well used for the betterment of society. Additional to heavy fines, the government should think about integrating these criminals in the mainstream by providing them with good educational job opportunities. As a result, these masses will also get a second chance to have a better life. By getting good learning and practical education these people can integrate well in society which in turn will Win-WIn situation for both government and prisoners. To sum up, Although longer sentences can definitely teach them a lesson and demotivates them to repeat the same crime, I believe that by charging heavy fines and good education to these people might present with the good environment for everybody.