There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Over the last decades, higher education has become available to more people than ever before. Although this can be beneficial for individuals and the community, some people argue that the growth in student numbers are having a negative impact on the standard of education. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this measure. The worldwide expansion of tertiary education has been a positive trend for those involved. It has enabled more people to realize their capabilities, gain a qualification and pursue a career that interests them. Furthermore, jobs that require a tertiary education are often well paid and thus allow those people to enjoy a higher quality of life. This in turn helps to raise the standard of living of society through economic development. On the other hand, the rise of pupils number in universities have also some drawbacks. An increase in students could be the reason for poor quality in the classes. The teachers could have some challenges to focus on students while the classes are larger than before. These could be the reason for the cons of increasing student numbers in universities. In some cases, this may cause a drop in standards and this could make it easier for students to pass. For this reason, the drawbacks could be a catastrophic impact. Overall, university education can be a positive step in a person's life. However, universities will need to ensure that the quality of education they deliver is not compromised by the growth in student numb