There are numerous discussions regarding ways to improve public health. Some people believe increasing sport facilities is the best way to improve public health whereas others disagree with this view.

There are numerous discussions regarding ways to improve public health. Some people believe increasing sport facilities is the best way to improve public health whereas others disagree with this view. Even though, There is no doubt the impact sport has on public health, the type of public health issues differ greatly depending on the country's level of development. In developed countries, chronic illness like hypertension and diabetes are quite common whereas in developing ones, infectious diseases tend to constitute the majority of health issues. Although increasing sport facilities is definitely one of the numerous ways to target public issues, it might not be at the top of the solutions. Exercise has more direct relation in improving health issues related to weight reduction and the chronic ones. With out incorporation public education and emphasize on healthy diet programmes, Sport alone has little effect. In relation to diseases like infectious ones, it is better to focus on creating awareness on prevention and treatment ways. I strongly believe building more sports facilities would provide people the opportunity to be fit and this has a positive effect on the general public health. However this should be supported by including fitness programmes in the school curriculum, creating awareness on the benefits of healthy diet and also emphasizing on ways to change lifestyle, especially with more focus on the youth. There community as a whole should find ways to keep their children engage in outdoor activities and avoid consumption of fast food. In summary, I believe building more sports facilities is one of the ways to improve public health. It will have more impact when incorporated with other programmes.