SHOULD MATHEMATICS AND PHILOSOPHY BE COMPULSORY SUBJECTS AT SCHOOL?

Ancient buildings are relics of the past and should be preserved, in the view of some people. Others, however, believe that the appearance of modern buildings will open a new horizon for the development of a nation. This essay will discuss the validity of both sides. The ancient houses are, first, believed to be the reservoir of the glorious past of a nation. With their existence along each road, it is undeniable that no sooner does young generation grow up than they become proud of their country’s admirable old-day history through the image of roof, ceiling and walls. Philosophically speaking, like a person who clings to the past to reflect, views the present to enjoy and contemplates the future, a city itself entails an inextricable link of these three time axes to revise, thrive and fly. Nevertheless, in case of derelict and run-down old houses, such experience of living in these shelters could be a nightmare to quite a few people, for instance, Hanoi people who are suffering a low-quality life in ancient streets. It is a common scene to some that three to four households have only one toilet system with their wall painting layers bound to peel off and their ceilings sagging owing to weathering. Another rationale is that these old houses are symbolic of the unique architecture and serve as a mental panacea for hurry-sickness city- dwellers. Hardly can the modern day people recreate such beauties as that by famous architects of yesterdays who utilized the past materials, and for that reason, some streets adorned with second-to-none buildings are ideal destinations for the visitors worldwide to savor themselves in the sense of serene old days. To those who are sucking in a life of craze, the tiny old houses resemble oases to ease their stress. Opponents have their points in the belief that as a result of the explosion of population, so crowded do streets turn out that these old, unsafe and dirty houses should be demolished to give way to skyscrapers to accommodate an ever-increasing number of people who flock to the city in hope of a better life. Also, not until the cities are paved with modern buildings and wide roads do investors from other continents pay greater attention, which, in turn, generates a huge amount of profit for the entire nation. In the final analysis, each idea has its own reasoning, however the presence of old houses is essential to the survival of any city for their originality and unforgettable destinations of travel lovers.