There are more forms of study nowadays. Among them, Online teaching and learning has become popular. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

ONLINE TEACHING AND LEARNING In this day and age, thanks to the improvement of technology, online teaching and learning has become increasingly popular among the students. Some students perceive it as an advance in learning techniques, while the others assert that it is not as effective as classroom learning. My essay will give insights into this issue. First of all, what makes distance learning crucial is its convenience. Studying in an online course provides a flexible schedule for the students. They are able to learn their desired course and subjects on their suitable time. This gives a great opportunity for learners to gain new skills and accumulate their knowledge level, while still staying in their own place. Secondly, online learning is said to be economically efficient. Students can learn with any device that is connected to the Internet. There’s no need to rent a building or pay for expensive utility bills that are required to provide students with a learning facility. In addition, students and teachers will no longer commute to class, thereby saving them money as well. Finally, online education is likely to excite the students after all. This kind of learning enables the teachers to design colourful, logical and impressive lessons through Powerpoint software. And hence, the students can easily understand and access the lessons effectively, because they tend to be more interested in slideshows than the boring black board in the classroom. On the other hand, online learning also has some drawbacks. Spending too much time gluing eyes to the laptop’s screen can cause lots of health problems. Students’ visibility is likely to be reduced by the time they are exposed in front of the screen of a laptop or smartphone. Therefore, they can have terrible headaches everyday, which can lead to sleeplessness. Moreover, online education might have a negative impact on personal physical health. Students become lazy because they don’t exercise continuously, and thus they can become obese. Besides, some students are not provided with the strong internet connection that online courses require, and fail to catch up with their virtual classmates: weak monitors make it hard to follow the course and their learning experience becomes problematic. For instance, children from mountainous areas where the internet connection is usually weak, or ones who are poor, can find it difficult to make use of this form of study. To draw the conclusion, everything has two sides and online teaching & learning is not an exception. As it was said above, online education provides various positive aspects for learners, but it is not convenient for everybody. People should consider the pros and cons to decide to study Online.