There are many zoos in the world. What are the benefits and drawbacks of keeping animals in zoos.

It is true that more and more zoos have been erecting all over the world in many recent years, resusting in vigorous debate whether this is the positive tendency. In my opinion, while offering numerous evident benefits, drawbacks could overshadow in the long run. On the one hand, there are two main advantages stemming from opening more zoos. Firstly, more profit could be generated, meaning that this amount of money would be donated partially in organisations which play an important role in protecting animals such as PETA, the largest organisation in the world. Therefore, the more money patronized from zoo activities, the more efficiency these organisations could operate. Secondly, it is fair to say that zoo could draw residents attention. It means that authorities, consequently, could make the most of this to teach inhabitants how to preserve and appreciate nature. As a result, thanks to zoo activities, humankind would an deeper insights into animal kingdom and be willing to be involved more in animal protection activities. On the other hand, I would argue that these above-mentioned benefits could be overshadowed by the tangible and severe drawbacks, which negatively affect on not only animal behaviours, but also fall them prey to mental diseases. It is evident that zoos would, inevitably, preclude animal natural behaviour patterns, giving rise to many underlying repercussions. Overdependence, for instance, could be the major problem of such captive animals. They have been acclimatized to convenient life which they enjoy in zoos so that they have almost lost all survival skills when it comes to living in natural habitats. Additionally, it is wrong to say that zoos are ideal places to provide shelters for extinct species due to the fact that a majority of zoos have been exploiting other animals, which are not endangered, just because of profit. Such captive-bred species, as a consequence, would suffer from psychological problems or even self-destructive behaviours like bar-bitting and self-mutilation if they live in such cages without freedom. In conclusion, it seems to me that capturing animals in zoos could bring various disadvantages, which would overshadow these benefits.