There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Music has long since been an inherent part of the culture of several countries. Music is associated with celebration be it in the form of dance or song, religious traditions or art. It is also a profession, being the primary source of income for renowned musicians worldwide – Beethoven, Hans Zimmer and Elvis Presley to name a few. Humans are drawn towards music as it tends to have a profound effect on the soul. Some like their music to be soft and soothing like the type played at funerals, whereas party goers prefer blaring noise from booming sound systems. Traditional music that is music native to a particular region is special as it portrays the culture of that place. One can learn so much about a country just by listening to the music. The veena or the sitar, for example boasts of India’s rich musical traditions, the percussions prevalent in the age of kings and lords. Even today, there are several households all over the country that stress upon the importance of Indian classical music. Gems like Zakir Hussain and Lata Mageshkar have charmed generations with their expertise in table playing and melodic renditions. With the age of internet and technology, we see an amalgamation of music. It is gradually becoming universal. If an artist like Drake releases a track today in the US, it will be played at the night clubs in Singapore tomorrow. The youngsters these days prefer western ideals and culture and getting them to listen to traditional music can be tough. Although listening and being up-to-date with the international music scenario is always welcome, one should revel in the rich musical traditions of one’s own country. Holding on to our roots would give us a sense of pride and belongingness and it is imperative that we take all measures necessary to prevent our time honored strains and notes from fading away into the past.