There are many advertisements directed at children, such as snacks, toys, and other goods. Parents argue that children are under pressure. Advertisers claim that advertisements provide useful information.

The advertisements are ubiquitous in these days and most of them are targeted at children who are not educated enough and easier to draw attention. This is a very controversial issue and some people think that these advertisement make children to feel uncomfortable while others believe that they provide certain knowledge. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the view and give my opinion. On the one hand, there are several reasons why commercials are disadvantageous for children. The first reason is that the advertisement that contain sugar and fat might encourage children to buy junk food which lead to obesity in later on. All the evidence has said that there is a negative correlation between children’s obesity rate and the number of time they watch advertisement. Secondly, the majority of TV commercials are not authentic but the children are not educated enough to differentiate between actual tv programmes and commercials. Consequently, advertisements give children an illusion that they have an access to all the materials and pester their parents to buy certain items they see on TV and social media. On the other hand, some people argue that advertisement are knowledgeable for youngsters as they can teach about healthy living and balanced diet. The abundance of commercial means the children will have a chance to learn about the importance of healthy lifestyle in which the company can promote their products in a more positive way. Instead of consumerism, the advertisement should encourage creativity and values such as honesty and integrity. In conclusion, it is certainly true that the advertisements have advantages for children however, in my opinion, the government should impose certain laws and regulations to censor in order to prevent the drawbacks of it.