People In All Modern Societies Use Drugs, But Today’s Youth Are Experimenting With Both Legal And Illegal Drugs

It is observed that in modern countries youths are highly exposed to narcotics at a very young age due to societal influence and easy availability of legal and illegal drugs. This has caused serious implications for their mental and physical well-being. Therefore, the parents and the government must step in to take stringent actions to stop drug abuse, and provide rehabilitation to the affected. The primary reasons for the youths to indulge in substance abuse are community influence and easy access to opiates. The availability of drugs in the open market makes it easy for youngsters to access them and overconsumption often results in serious health disabilities, increasing crimes, career destruction, and family breakups. For example, today, many people in the USA are into drugs due to the inflow of heroin and cocaine from the neighbouring country, Mexico. In addition to this, many people, especially the younger generation, do not have the support and proper guidance from parents and close family members. They often feel lonely, thereby getting involved in the company of wrong friends with bad habits. The neglect of parents and lack of moral guidance make kids vulnerable to committing illegal activities. Banning drug marketing through governmental policies, rehabilitating addicts and monitoring them closely are some of the effective solutions to this growing concern. Action needs to be taken to stop the increasing number of drug dealers and drug cartels. The Narcotics Department and the Government must introduce severe penalties on illegal drug selling. In India, for example, the Customs Department does thorough checks at the airports to catch hold of people involved in importing opium and other illicit drugs from across the borders. Those who are addicted to drugs should be given medical treatment and put in a rehabilitation center for recovery. Moreover, even parents should closely watch their kids and observe their changing behaviour. Parents must take some time out to bond with their kids, instil good values in them and counsel them often.