There are fewer and fewer employment opportunitues for graduates entering the job market and this will have serious implications for hight education.

Although it is impossible to argue with the facts provided in the first half of the statement, it remains questionable whether higher education is going to be under threat due to the decrease in job positions on offer. Nonetheless, various measurements will have to be taken to encourage more entry level vacancies available for students who have recently left university. The explanation for this acute shortage in the job market lies within the overpopulation of the planet. In other words, there are more people than ever before whereas job opportunities have not risen at the same rate. Worse yet, employers tend to hold on to their employees even when they might be growing old, causing those positions to be held from being on offer. Thus forcing the workforce to compete over what few roles that may exist. However, if we are to discuss how appealing pursuing a degree might become in light of the scarcity of employment, the relationship couldn’t be as simple and direct as it may seem at first glance. A lot of students follow their passion when choosing a course, that is enough proof for me to believe that finding a job at the end is not the only reason for taking on the path of higher education but fundamentally there is a love and enthusiasm for doing it as well. Additionally, graduate jobs compared to other ones have considerably higher salaries which by itself can attract many people towards universities. A third point is that the prestige of having a university diploma or a Phd can be a powerful factor to increase student enrolment. Then again, more and more people are setting off building their own business instead of trying to find someone to work for. Certainly, finishing a course in university provides one with plenty of knowledge enhancing the possibility of success. Additionally those who cannot find a job immediately after finishing their education have the choice of freelancing to acquire enough experience that would qualify them for certain jobs. To sum up, studying intensively in university has an abundance of advantages and it is a pleasant experience by itself. Therefore, the drop in the job market will not have a massive effect on the trends of students in higher education.