There are an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some people say that the best way would be to use death penalty as a deterrant, many people say that other measures will be needed.

There is no doubt that in recent years, the crime rate has risen and it overshadows other accolades in a country. While it has been opined by a number of strict residents that notorious criminal minds should be hanged, others argue that apposite steps have to be taken for each crime. This essay will explore both the views and highlight pertinent examples as well. One concern with the former argument is that people, who commit violence, such as raping or stabbing someone to death, should not be spared by any sympathy. This is because that if one mastermind gets relieved from the law, the whole crime world would be relaxed and encouraged to conduct more. For instance, the severity and the rate of crime are at a moderate level in many Western countries like the United States or United Kingdom because of the rigid mindset to show no mercy on rapists, killers, and so forth. On the other hand, as crimes do not have any one size fit solution, one and only decision of death might misjudge and miscalculate the nature of the offence. That is to say, it is vital to consider how crime occurs and why the offender is stimulated; many critical behaviours can be realised behind every crime, thus utilising to stop aspiring incidents. For example, the behaviour science department of the FBI has supported to lessen the crime rate by 5% in the United States for their study on serial killers since 2011. Furthermore, a few individuals should be treated in mental hospitals or specialised institutes as a mean of fair judgement. In conclusion, death penalty often seems to be the ultimate answer to communities for the sake of humanity, whereas murderers, serial killers, and so on should not only be treated in an unbiased way, but also be studied further to put a definite end of the crime era.