The world’s total forest area is decreasing faster than ever. What are the main causes of deforestation? What can be done to combat the problems?

Nowadays, the existence of human beings is threatened by the rapid global decrease of forested areas known as deforestation. The causes of this phenomenon are multifactorial, thus need a systematic approach from government organizations and individuals to tackle the problem. To begin with, the main causes of current global warming are, firstly, the construction of human infrastructures has been driving deforestation. To be more precise, in terms of transportation, new roads, rails have been built to transport goods such as fruit, fossil fuels, and even fresh meat. As a result, more trees will be cut to build these transportation infrastructures. The recent research, which was held by Oxford University, found that 15% of forested area has been disappeared because of new construction. In addition, urbanization has resulted in the loss of trees all over the world. It is expected that 80% of people who live in rural areas will move to cities in the next few decades. Consequently, as cities must become larger to host more people, the surrounding areas will be destroyed. There are two viable solutions to tackle and prevent deforestation from becoming worse. The measures that the government of all nations should take to reduce the disappearance of forest areas are, firstly, conserving the forest area by implementing strict norms and encouraging planting more trees in the cities. Secondly, raising people's awareness is another effective way to reduce the number of trees that will be cut in the future. To conclude, there are numerous factors leading to deforestation, including the construction of new infrastructures and the populational shift that is leading people to move from rural areas to urban areas; however, the problem can be solved by imposing stricter rules to protect forests and raising community awareness.