The world’s natural resources are consumed at an ever-increased rate. What are the causes of this situation? What are the solutions?

The debate over the over consumption of natural resources has been heated constantly. For this phenomenon, several reasons are being put on the plate, and feasible measures are recommended to be taken immediately. There are several factors acting as a main culprit behind this current trend. In recent years, it is obvious that the demand for accommodation in cities has increased considerably but the land in these areas has run out recently. Therefore, people have to expand the scale of cities to areas where there are few inhabitants such as forests surrounding cities, which leads to desforestation and comsuming wood to make room for inhabitance. Besides, the reality has indicated that electronic devices play a vital role in human life such as electric lights, vehicles and computers, so fossil fuels are being exploited more and more strongly to serve people’s needs. To illustrate, in Viet Nam, the majority of electricity used on a daily basis is generated from the burning of coal in thermal power stations. Urgent actions are called to put a halt to the trend of natural resources over-consumption over the world. First and foremost, the most practical method is enhancing people’s awareness of this trend. To tackle the issue of deforestation, campaigns should be created and advertised widely to citizens; for example, people can participate in planting trees in volunteer organizations. Furthermore, the government should invest money in developing renewable resources such as wind, solar and tidal power, which are applied for electric-efficient devices. These forms of energy should be used in all parts of the world to minimise the global consumption of fossil fuels. To conclude, it is of my opinion that demand of people for living areas and utilities of electric appliances in daily life are the main causes of an ever-increased rate of natural resources. Therefore, solutions made by citizens and authority should be applied immediately to mitigate the rate of this trend.