The world population has been increasing lately. One way to curb excessive growth in the third world countries is to restrict the number of children each couple can have to 1. Other people believe that empowerment of woman is a better way.

Globally, overpopulation is becoming a growing concern. While enacting laws that enforces childbearing in families to just one in developing countries is a good way to reverse this trend, I believe that educating women will be a more effective approach. On the one hand, restricting the rate of childbearing can be a good way to curb surging population indices in emerging economies. This will enable the government to efficiently manage available resource and provide basic amenities such as education and healthcare. Poverty level will also be reduced amongst families because of the increased quality of life. For example, during the development days in china, the emperor employed a similar law of 1 offspring in a family. This is why many argue that enforcing a compulsory birth control strategy will reverse growth trends. On the other hand, it is perhaps even more impactful for poorer countries to empower women to watch soaring population stats and I agree. This will enable them make informed choices and promote their awareness on the issue. Furthermore, an empowerment program centred around women will advocates and share information with peers on the need to manage population growth. For example, as the saying goes " to educate a lady is to educate a nation" most communities are now focusing on educating the girl child to ensure future developments. This will improve the knowledge gap in the society, which is why a woman development program is a better alternative. In conclusion, although government embargo on childbearing will bring immediate results in developing nations, in my opinion I believe training women will be a more potent long term solution to excessive growth. Globally, overpopulation is becoming a growing concern. While enacting laws that enforces childbearing in families to just one in developing countries is a good way to reverse this trend, I believe that educating women will be a more effective approach.