The way that people work today has changed significantly due to the development of technology. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of these changes.

It is a common belief that the changes brought about in the workplace by technological advances have been largely negative. However, there is a more persuasive argument that these changes have had an overall positive effect because they allow people to work and communicate from any location. On the one hand, technology has blurred the line between work hours and off-time. This is because smartphones and other communication devices have made it much easier to contact workers after they are finished with work. As a result, supervisors can now encroach upon the private time of their employees. In fact, this became such a problem in France that it led to a law recognizing the right to disconnect once work has finished. French people felt that working after their stated hours was an invasion of their personal time, so legislation was passed allowing people to avoid work communications when they are not on company time. Nevertheless, the development of technology has benefited workers by giving them the ability to perform their jobs in any physical location. Due to advances in Internet technology, people can work closely together even if they are not in the same office. For instance, people nowadays can hold video conference meetings with clients in different countries, saving them the time and money it would take to travel to those destinations. Furthermore, the ability to check work communications on a phone or laptop offers people the freedom to work from anywhere. To sum up, while there are some disadvantages to using new technologies in the professional sphere, it is evident that the advantages of technological advances far outweigh the drawbacks.