The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that nowadays more and more social media platforms emerged with the intention of getting social networking easier than before, while most people argue this is replacing face-to-face communication in the society. This essay will discuss why the disadvantages of social media is outweigh the advantages. To begin with, Social media is connecting people around the world instantly and share information between individuals using various technologies like chat messages and video calls. Moreover, it is save the time and energy of peoples busy life and they can use that time for some other activities. Because of the development of such platforms people can communicate anyone any time and any place that person lives. For Example, Facebook is currently providing service for 2. 4 billion users who can choose to connect and interact with anyone they want, regardless of where they are.   Furthremore, larger companies benefit from this technology, so that employee no longer need to be in the office, meanwhile they can work from their home. On the other hand, the disadvantages of social media replacing face-to-face interaction are much more concerning. As these sites are becoming more and more dominant and attract large number of new users everyday, people can fall prey to online communication abuse, such as online pressure and harrasement. In fact, social networking websites can become a toxic environment where users can verbally assualted because there are only a few rules rather than established guidelines, that restrict abusive contents. many young people prefer living in a virtual world on social sites than engaging in real-life relationships. This may have serious mental effects such as increased stress, anxiety and loneliness. In conclusion, the downsides of social media replacing face-to-face communication are more significant than benefits users could receive from those sites.