The use of personal cars has increased more than ever before but this use of cars causes many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce these problems, should we discourage people to use cars?

It has been observed in the past few years that more and more people are opting to travel in their own car which has given rise to many unexpected issues. This essay will outline those problems and discuss possible ways to deter the public from using it very often. Firstly, we will walk through its impacts on the environment and secondly, on our productivity. Lastly, we will look at some measures that the government and common citizens can take to alleviate it. Many researchers agree on the fact that vehicles are the major contributors of an air and sound pollution. Car runs on fossil fuel which upon burning emits carbon dioxide. This toxic gas aggravates the greenhouse impacts such as, rise in the temperature, melting glaciers, acid rain, imbalance in the ecosystem and also many health complications. In other words, car exhausts adds greatly to the adverse effects of the global warming. In addition to that, vast number of four-wheelers on the road forms heinous traffic congestion everyday. Many metropolitans complain about spending a good amount of their day during commute, which they could have rather utilized in some productive activities. That is to say, one has to sacrifice their precious time if chose the comfort of car transportation. Many experts suggest putting a staggering high tax on the ownership of automobiles will help with these issues, However, I beg to differ. Car is rather a necessity that a luxury in metro cities. Hence huge taxation is of no use. More efficient way to curb the situation could be, encouraging people to use their car more smartly. For instance, avoid using it unless more then two persons travelling or offer a car-pool. Another remedy is, The government and giant automobile hubs can invest more in producing efficient and eco-friendly cars. In conclusion, This essay acknowledges that the problems affecting the environment and people's lives are growing equivalent to the car users, but can be mitigated by a few smart decisions by ordinary citizens and authorities.