The use of personal cars has increased more than ever before but this use of cars causes many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce these problems, should we discourage people to use cars?

Personal cars have become an essential part of our life due to a variety of benefits and flexibility it offers including easy access to different facilities and service, safety, freedom to travel, and comfort of the journey. However, these benefits come with a cost, and environmental impacts and traffic congestion are the major concerns. We can improve our public transportation system and increase fuel prices to discourage people not to use cars as frequently as they do. The problems associated with the increasing car use is huge and its environmental impacts are a great concern for many environmentalists as well as ordinary citizens. Automobiles are a big source of carbon dioxide emission and greenhouse effects and not to mention, air and sound pollution in urban areas all around the world. Vehicle exhausts contribute to global warming, acid rain and many health-related problems. Climate change is already affecting millions of people's lives and hurting the ecological balance, and it's terrifying to think about what the ever-increasing vehicles on the roads would do to our planet in the future unless we do something to reverse it. Moreover, personal cars are the reason we face such heinous traffic jams almost every day which kills our valuable time and negatively affects our productivity. To address these problems, some people suggest that the government should impose a strict restriction on car ownership and increase the tax on car purchasing to a staggering height. However, since the mobility and flexibility of personal cars are essential in our life, I am absolutely against taking any drastic measures. Rather, we should improve our public transportation facility to a great extent so that people prefer to use public buses and trains rather than driving. Another measure could be slowly increasing the fuel price that would deter many middle-class people from using and driving cars. Moreover, car manufacturers should invest in environment-friendly solar or hydrogen-powered cars to reduce the negative impacts of cars on the environment and the government should improve the roads to reduce traffic congestions. In conclusion, restricting the use of cars overnight might seem like a quick and effective solution but practically speaking, it's not a proper solution. We want to use cars for the freedom of our mobility but have to come up with eco-friendly cars to reduce its negative impacts.