The use of electronic media has a negative effect on personal relationships between people.

Obviously, our computers, mobile phones and iPads have already become an important part of our lives. However, there are still some people who think these devices are already damaging our relationships with family members, friends and colleagues. I think they are both good and bad, but what is more important here is the way we use them. It is true that electronic devices might be damaging people’s personal relationships. They, for example, are no longer engaging themselves in face to face conversations when they meet up at a café or restaurant. Instead of enjoying and talking to each other, they are busy taking the picture of their dinner and posting it on Instagram or Facebook. As a result, they are weakening their relationships rather than deepening and taking them to the next level. However, there are also benefits to using computers and phones for individuals when strengthening their personal relationships. They can easily stay in touch with their friends or family members who have been living away from them. Simply put, there are no any geographical limitations. This opportunity also allows them to make plenty of international friends online who they might meet in person and even maintain deeper friendships later on. Personally, I think the answer for the question is that our computers and smartphones can do us good if we use them sensibly, or they can work to our detriment if we use them in a way that is not beneficial at all. For instance, people can use them to make lots of online friends and enjoy widening their friendship circle or use them to play video games instead of meeting their friends. In conclusion, it is people and the way they are using their electronic devices that are benefitting and worsening their lives. At the end of the day, these gadgets are created by humans and not other way around.