The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Kids of today's young generation are the future of tomorrow. They need to be obviously handle with care are due respect. In my opinion punishing a student in the school is not the accurate way to handle them to improve their behavior. I clearly do not support the statement, that still the corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools should be used to improve behavior. According to me, their are many other ways to teach a good lesson and to improve the behavior of a students. Hitting students can lead to huge fear of school in their mind. They might not come to school with fresh mind, with the intention to learn something new and grew their knowledge. It is really a positive and a beneficial approach that government has implemented to the society by passing out the strict rules on hitting students in the school or giving them a harsh punishment. I would like to mention a example which will show the benefit of the rule that government has enforced. A news was published few months ago on the same incident, where a teacher was beating a child so badly for just not knowing the answer of the question that he had asked to the student. This incident was from the small village near Bihar state of my country. Knowing this, the parents had complained about it to the police station and then after police started their immediate action on it. The license of the teacher was cancelled and he had to spend his 5 years of life in the prison as an punishment. This incident had really effected the mentality of the kid so rigorously that then after he started getting night mares of his bad experience of going school. Any how, he was then convinced by his parents and continued his schooling. With the great respect to the education and the students life, I would conclude that it is not always necessary to give a harsh punishment to students to improve their behavior, and really appreciate the positive decline of such activities in the school.