Memorizing facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that it is more adventerous to memorise certain facts to achieve high marks in education. Personally, I completely disagree with this opinion and think that understanding the information much more important than remembering them. First and foremost, those people, who good at memorising facts, have developed their short term memory. What I mean, here is that they can forget them after studying. Even, if someone is keep in mind information that have been learnt before, this person will not understand it and also explain it. For instance, a lot of students use the technique short term memorising before taking exams. They might be get too highest scores but learners will forget the information after passing time. That is why it is more important not to commit in short time storage. Secondly, understanding and using the facts effectively keeps you broad minded and therefore leads to a success in education. In other words, all subjects based on facts and researchers but better memorizing them cannot show that people perceive fully. Student who love the theories can easily excel in their fields of subjects in schools and achieve better results than those, who put learning facts on the first place. In conclusion, I strongly believe that understanding facts is more beneficial than memorizing because it makes adolescents open minded and motivated.