Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

Nowadays, transport is very imperative to commute from one place to another. Some people opine that mass transit should be free in many big cities and towns. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of this approach. On the constructive side, there are a plethora of merits of free public transportation. In other words, when government would provide free services to daily commuters they get benefit of a free transportation. However, masses that used their personal cars or bikes to travel might be use public transport rather than their own vehicle. Additionally, our ecosystem will be free and safe from the pollution if there is less transport on the road. There is huge traffic congestion in many metropolitan cities due to which folks need to face a numerous problems. On the flip side, there are many demerits of the free mass transit. When such services are free of cost, it will be burden on the official pockets. However, they need to run buses and light rails from all routes on the weekend which is not beneficial; due to fact they run empty from such routes. For instance, a recent survey conducted by Britain public transport in which they reveals that it costs approximately three billion dollars every when they run mass transit at weekends. Therefore, it is not practical to run free public transport. In conclusion, i personally believe that of providing free transport, authorities should decrease the fares and encourage public through media resources to use car polling and their services