Public celebrations (such as national days, festivals etc.) are held in most countries. These are often quite expensive and some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things. Do you agree or disagree?

I almost all countries, the government often make huge arrangements for the celebration of public holidays. A chunk of people, finding it quite extravagant, are opposite to this. I, to some extent, agree with this viewpoint as I believe that there is no harm in remembering remarkable days without splurging a huge amount of money. To embark on, every nation has its own history and heritage, due to which, there are special days such as Independence Day or republic day etcetera. Needless to say, when these days are given importance every year, it automatically transfers knowledge about one’s country’s struggles in the past. Take for instance Freedom Day, which gives an opportunity to all country citizens, including adolescents, to know about and admire those eminent personalities who fought in the wars. This, as a consequence, also injects patriotism amongst dwellers. Furthermore, it is unequivocal that government collects enormous amounts of money from public in the form of taxes. Therefore, all tax payers, become eligible for the enjoyment of such festivals that has been organized by the authorities. What is more, in this day and age of burdened life, it is not wrong to get indulged in the celebration of big festivals such as carnivals, Christmas and Diwali etcetera. On the other hand, sadly, it is also true that in some developing or undeveloped countries such as India, the government must be a bit cautious while squandering money on special occasions. The primary reason behind this would definitely be the utmost need to pay more attention towards the flourishment of the whole economy. The government, unfortunately, turns a blind eye towards unprivileged people. In conclusion, all of the festivals and remembrance days help a country to pass its culture and traditions to its future generation and therefore, make it immortal. However, in some countries, the governing bodies might need to act deliberately due to grave matters needed to be solved.