The usage of plastic containers, especially in the food and beverage sector, has become increasingly ubiquitous lately.

The usage of plastic containers, especially in the food and beverage sector, has become increasingly ubiquitous lately. From my perspective, plastic packaging can pose an enormous threat to the environment, overshadowing its benefits of convenience and affordability. On the one hand, the prevalence of plastic packaging is mainly attributed to its convenience and affordability.  Being a synthetic material made from a wide range of organic polymers, plastic is less prone to tearing and can better withstand harsh weather conditions than other common packaging materials like glass, metal, or wood. *On top of that, since this kind of packaging is significantly cost-effective to manufacture in great quantities, it helps busy clerks to gain more profits and keep the cost of their products reasonable for customers in the meantime*. Therefore, it is understandable why plastic containers have gained in popularity. On the other hand, the manufacture and use of plastic containers may cause detrimental impacts on the environment and human health. Due to its mass production, the manufacturing chains’ quality is usually not ensured. This can result in by-products of plastic containers being leaked out during production, which can cause soil degradation or water and air contamination. Besides, since plastic is non-degradable, containers made of this material could take decades to decompose. As soon as plastic waste has deteriorated, poisonous particles of plastic might exude in the air, leading to serious respiratory diseases for human beings. Overall, plastic's negative influence on the environment and human well-being is undoubtedly its most significant demerits, eclipses the advantages. In conclusion, while I acknowledge that the prevalence of plastic containers is mainly attributed to their advantages of convenience and affordability, I believe their benefits can hardly overshadow their drawbacks as long as their effects on the environment persist.