the true purpose of education

What is the true purpose of education? Of course, education plays a very important role in the progress of the human race. Some people believe that education is to make the mind and not careers, and some others brought into the idea that education is all about training and success. That leads us to a new question, is there any ‘false’ purpose of education? And where do we draw the line to determine whether it is right or wrong? Education is necessary for us and it is very important. Without a proper education, no one can achieve any remarkable progress. Education itself only has one purpose; that is “to refine a person so that he is able to acquire knowledge, competencies and wisdom to face the world and become successful both individually and collectively and lead a harmonious life of co-existence in the society. ”. So yes, the purpose of education is to ‘refine’ and make the mind, but at the same time it will also help the student to build up their career and train their mind to help with their career achieve ‘success’. We agree that the purpose of education is to ‘refine’ a person, but without a proper method this will never be achieved. In one of the famous quotes often credited to Albert Einstein’s say, “Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid. ”. For example, not all students are ‘good’ at mathematical problems, but because of the system in our education, they’re forced to get a high enough score and if not, they’ll get ‘punishment’ for it. And yes, mathematical problems are good to train students' brains but, by setting this standard of ‘success’ students could get stressed easily and maybe, think less of themselves. To sum it up, education is important to make the mind of the student and by doing so, it could help to build up their career to success, but we have to do it in a proper way. Just because we’re all human doesn’t mean that we have the same way of seeing things, thinking and learning.