The trend of increasing tourism causes environmental problems in many parts of the world. What are the main causes of pollution it creates? What can be done to reduce it?

Nowadays, tourism is counted amongst the most imperative industries all over the world. Despite the fact of its importance, it has profound ramifications on the whole environment due to the accompanied pollution that it exerts. In this essay, the underlying reasons for such pollution will be discussed along with suggested corresponding solutions. To commence with, there is no doubt that tourists give birth to a number of serious issues, which, extremely, influences the environment negatively on account of the means of transportation they may use as well as some of their indecent behaviours. Firstly, the aviation industry, which became the pioneer in the travel process, needs incredibly high amounts of fuels, which, consequently, contributes tremendously to polluting the air. Secondly, some holidaymakers do not respect the visited countries. Take, for instance, my home town, Alexandria, is suffering every summer from disposing litters into sea water by visitors. The problem which intimedates the sea creatures and jeopardizes some species to get extinct. Therefore, governments should make efforts to carb these issues. Imposing high taxes on travelling by air is deemed as instrumental resolution to move people away from using such method of transportation. This can be seen in Saudi Arabia, which managed to minimize the travellers` numbers by planes to domestic destinations by 20% after levying the passengers of these journeys. In addition, restricted laws must be enacted to save the environment form the irresponsible attitudes such as fining people who deliberate to throw garbage in public streets or in the sea water. By way of conclusion, while the tourism is paramount to economies, it is considered as a firm source of pollution. Hence, some actions should be taken, restrictely, to dwarf this problem and create healthy environment.