The town council is planning to allow the building of a large hotel in a spot of unspoiled natural beauty in order to attract more tourists to the area. Although some locals welcome this idea, others do not. Write an article for a local news website valuating the different opinion on this issue and explaining what you think about it.

Controversy has arisen around the town council’s decision to build a large hotel in a spot of unspoiled natural beauty. While the building of a hotel like that is beneficial in many ways, it also has certain drawbacks that need to be taken into account. So, the real question is, will this plan benefit our town? Undoubtedly, there are many potential advantages in this plan. First and foremost, the building of the hotel will open many job vacancies. As a result, unemployed people will find a source of income to make a living. However, as Maranda Richards, a famous economist, indicates” although tourism creates jobs, it also drives up prices, making it difficult for locals to make the ends meet. Moreover, the increased tourism in our city will bring more customers at the local restaurants, cafés and nightclubs. Consequently, our city will economically grow and the salaries are going to be higher. However, not everyone has embraced the move and this is quite reasonable for plenty of reasons. Firstly, destroying a spot of an unspoiled natural beauty is a huge downside. More specifically, the place that is going to be destroyed to make the hotel is a spot where local kids and young people use to go for a swim and they love this space. If it gets destroyed everyone is gonna get mad and violent demonstrations may occur. As a result, many people are going to be injured. Local shops at the city center will be damaged and that image wouldn’t do our city justice. Finally, according to a recent survey, 89% of the people believe that nature should not be sacrificed for economic growth. Taking the above into consideration, I am inclined to believe that the drawbacks of the plan outweigh the advantages. Even though the plan has great potential, the decision to destroy a natural habitat to make it happen is a big let Down. With correct alterations, the plan could be extremely beneficial for our city.