The tourism industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years, and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit.

Due to the advent of fast and easy means of transportation such as airplanes, the tourism industry has taken a major hike. It is often argued that tourism hardly proves to be advantageous to the local economies. I do not concur with such viewpoint as I believe that there is plethora of positive sides of tourism. Firstly, it could not be denied that foreign guests often spend huge amount of money in the host countries. Needless to say, the money spent becomes the source of income for the local businesses, which otherwise might be in jeopardy. As a consequence, the local economy’s Gross Domestic Product tends to boost. Secondly, tourism also acts a colossal source of knowledge for the local community as well. Foreigners, when paying a visit to any country, share their own cultural values and traditions to the host country's’ people. Therefore, local people get an opportunity to broaden their experience by merely staying in their own nation. Likewise, tourists also familiarize themselves with the different regions’ customs and traditions. Thirdly, when people from international countries arrive in the host country, the government might think to improve infrastructure of the country as well. This, undoubtedly, is hugely beneficial for the local dwellers as new roads, bridges and highways etcetera gets added to their areas. Furthermore, burgeoning of certain industries such as hotel and tourism, in turn, opens multiple doors of employment opportunities for the job seekers. This development acts as a savior for the developing nations where more than half of the population is scrambling to get employed. In conclusion, it would not be incorrect to say that tourism industry does myriad of favors to the host countries in the form of ameliorating joblessness issues, increasing peoples’ knowledge about other nation’s cultures and traditions and helping small companies become lucrative.