The tourism industry has changed dramatically with the overwhelming emergence of social media platforms. Due to the nature of a travel product – it is experiential, and often a material commitment in terms of money or time – people have long shared travel experience and social media just facilitates this. How far do you agree? What role do tech and social media play in your trip?

Tourism and travel dates back to ancient times. The first guest houses, taverns and the Olympic Games were the forefathers of the current concept of tourism. It grew and developed, became popular or stopped activities. But today the tourism industry is an important part of the economy of any country. Being an intangible, prepaid resource, it has its own subtleties and sides. One of them is advertising and results. Moreover, in these two aspects, social networks play a major role today. Let's take a closer look at what I mean. Advertising in tourism activities is a kind of artistic image that represents a particular tour or service and is conveyed with the help of such attractive elements as beautiful photos (in the press) or videos (on television), created with the aim of increasing demand. Social networks are considered to be the most popular advertising distribution channel. Therefore, today it is an integral part of the hospitality industry. For example, according to statistics, more than half of the population use social networks, about 54%. And every day a person spends about two and a half hours there. It is a huge platform with a large number of instant messengers in which anyone can distribute anything and for any purpose. The result of tourist activity is a tour product, as well as the emotions and memories of the tourist that remain associated with it. Such memories are photographs, videos, recordings, etc. This is where social networks reappear, where we can share impressions with others or leave them as a keepsake. Thus, although tourism can exist without social networks, as it did 20 years ago, now we can not longer imagine one without the other. They turned out to be interconnected and only in the future we will know whether it is good or bad.