The three-dimensional porous structure

The three-dimensional porous structure of the hydrogels will increase the surface area of ​​the material, accordingly allowing more recognition elements to be immobilized. Their large surface area structures offer sufficient space to place particles, functional groups, dyes, and so on, which could apply numerous functionalities. If the probes are entrapped within the matrix or on top of the matrix, they are easily stored in a soft and flexible hydrogel network, as a result, are much less affected by surface interactions, and can preserve their activity. another incredible feature of hydrogels as an immobilizing matrix is ​​the reduction or even prevention of nonspecific binding. because of the hydrophilicity of polymers utilized in hydrogels, nonspecific binding is notably decreased The flexible nature of hydrogels also can be used to increase access to probes. the rough but elastic surfaces increase surface bonding ability in addition to enhancing the exposure of the recognition site [364, 365]. various hydrogels with biosensing abilities were recognized. The most regularly used hydrogels are polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol, polyacrylate families, and electroconductive hydrogels.