The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Ever since the second World War, a tremendous research has been undertaken to improve nuclear weapons and nuclear power. Apart from keeping the warring nations at bay, this research has provided alternate resource to rely upon, which is not only cheap to use but also efficient. Although skeptics argue about the harmful effects that come with this technology, a majority of the scientific community are appreciating the advantages in utilization of nuclear energy. In almost five decades, the world has not seen a nuclear explosion that has occurred due to international conflicts. The glaring after-effects keep the nations from pressing the nuclear weapon button to resolve their arguments. This fear, as the skeptics say, can be real if such missiles fall under wrong hands. However, tightened security, the complexity behind their manufacturing, and NATO regulations drafted by world leaders assure that such weapons will not be used. For example, the Cold War between USA and Russia could have had devastating consequences, but nuclear treaties ensured that diplomatic negotiations were upheld, ensuring peace. Such careful display of nuclear power has proved to be a lucrative stratagem to ensure minimal life and property loss. Nuclear energy is abundantly available on the Earth, thereby creating an additional resource for power generation. Atomic power plants and nuclear reactors have been invented to reduce usage of fossil fuels. This resource, although is not user-friendly, but is highly efficient as a tiny atom can create massive amounts of energy. In contrast to the proponents of this future, the opponents argue that a form of pollution has risen, known as the nuclear waste. Also called as radiation, the example of explosion on a nuclear power plant in India resulted in casualties and deformities in people. Mostly caused by human error, such incidents show the tragic reality of this type of pollution. However, the results of this isolated incident in fact shows the effort undertaken to ensure safe handling of this resource. Today, this resource is widely available due to outstanding research and innovations that prevent loss of flora and fauna, proving it's true value. In conclusion, history has proved that nuclear energy cannot be toyed with, however, careful usage ensures world safety along with cheaper alternative resource. This technology, in future, will be not only be the main source of economy, but also will provide excellent opportunities in field of science.