Some countries have become much richer than others. Richer countries should now help poorer countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As trade and investment between countries have developed over the last 50 years, some countries have increased their wealth greatly, while others have not benefited very much. It is clear that it is now necessary for richer countries to help less well-off countries to develop. Most importantly, if richer countries assist poorer countries, perhaps by giving them aid, sharing their knowledge, or by allowing them to export their products to the richer countries, the lives of millions of people will be improved. With additional income and expertise, poor countries could improve their health, transport and education systems and create extra jobs, improving the lives of their citizens. Richer countries could also benefit. As other countries become wealthier and more developed, markets for the products of richer countries, such as banking services, luxury items and education courses will increase. If they have more money, poorer countries might also invite companies from richer countries to become involved with construction projects or consultancy. In addition, various problems that affect wealthy nations, like movements of people looking for better living conditions, may be reduced. Finally, equality between countries creates international friendship. When countries assist each other, ideas are exchanged and people move between countries, increasing knowledge and awareness of other cultures and ideas. Such exchanges help to improve relationships between countries and, provided richer countries do not expect too much in return for their help, lead to a reduction of suspicion and distrust. In short, there are significant economic and political benefits when countries with many resources offer help to others. Rather than being an act of charity, such help is an investment that can benefit everyone involved.