The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods.

The likelihood of people to imitate others is seen in the popularity of consumer products and fashion. In my opinion, I completely agree that human beings tend to copy one another in many ways. Humans are highly social animals, and we live our lives generally based on imitation. From birth, children learn and act based on what they see their parents and other adults do. This translates into every aspect of our daily lives, including what we wear. Fashion trends come and go and these trends are highly based on what is seen as cool. For instance, in the late 1990s baggy jeans were in vogue and most young boys had one, I also wanted to get a pair for myself because everyone did, but 10 years later it became outdated and skinny jeans were now popular, then my wardrobe changed again. Furthermore, consumer goods also gain popularity based on copying. In other words, people feel the need to possess an item they must have seen with a friend or even a stranger. Manufacturers take advantage of this fact to boost their patronage by using celebrities as brand ambassadors, causing the masses to believe that these public figures make use of a product. This in turn affects sales. A recent study carried out in Lagos showed that the sales of a pair of headphones had a 70% rise in sales when the company signed an endorsement deal with a famous musician. In conclusion, it is proven that people do a lot of copying when it comes to general consumer items and clothing. Thus, companies and manufacturers have taken advantage of that for a long time.