The teenage years are filled with much anxiety. What are some of the things that make you anxious? How do you manage these anxieties? [Expository - 'I']

The saying goes, “The teenage years are the best years of one’s life”. As a struggling 16-year-old, I cannot beg to differ more. Teenagers are supposed to be leading a wonderfully easy life: full of fun and free of stress. Our sole responsibility is to study hard, which according to adults, is a simple task. However, living the life of a teenager is not that easy. My teenage years are filled with anxieties that I can do without. In this essay, I will share about some things that make me anxious, and how I manage these anxieties. As society becomes more competitive with each passing year, my peers and I face increasing pressure to excel in our academics. For instance, even from a tender age, we are loaded with tons of assessment books. We are drilled to work hard and long, with our well-meaning parents breathing down our necks to make sure that we do well academically. As a consequence, I was brought up to fear failure, thinking I must not let my parents down. My parents impose their unfulfilled dreams and wishes on me, and woes betide me if they I am unable to live up to their high expectations. Some parents will reproach their children and even make deprecating remarks and endless comparisons between them and the neighbours’ children. Eventually, arguments break out and the relationship is strained. Therefore, this causes immense anxiety amongst us teenager. Relationship troubles also cause anxiety in my teenage life. It is common for us teenagers to face problems with our love lives. Curious about many things, I was more than eager to try having a relationship with a person I had feelings for. Though not without good effects, these infatuations have their negative consequences. While the relationship helped me to alleviate the stress of schoolwork by having someone to talk to, it in turn gave rise to emotional pain when it failed to work out. It was the first true heartbreak I ever had, and it did lead me to some apprehension about relationships which affected my daily life. The emotional need to fit in with my peers also resulted in great stress in my school life. Peers are an important influence on behaviour during adolescence and teenagers often find it difficult to resist peer pressure. While peer pressure can have positive effects on teenagers when we are inspired by our peers towards positive behaviour such as volunteering for charity, it can also affect us negatively. This is because peer conformity among teenagers is commonly linked to episodes of adolescent risk-taking like underage drinking, smoking and shoplifting as these activities usually take place in the company of peers. To give an example, I have had experiences of negative peer pressure such as the time when I was pressured into taking a drink without paying for it. Luckily, I stood by my morals at that instant and refused to commit to the act of stealing. From that day on, they excluded me from being their friend, but I have no regrets as they were always up to no good. However, I fear that I may face negative peer pressure from my close friends in the future, which will be easier to succumb to. Therefore, when we associate ourselves with bad company, we may engage in risky behaviours and become juvenile delinquents. Though we may be aware of the consequences of our actions, we may be coerced into doing things that goes against our conscience, and it is these kinds of dilemmas that cause us great anxiety. Despite the myriad of anxieties I face in my daily life, there are many ways for me to overcome these anxieties and move on with my life. To deal with the heavy workload in school, I plan my time between work and play wisely. This ensures that I complete all my work and still have enough time to relax by playing games. This is so that I do not burn myself out. I also share the problems I face with school councellors and my parents. It is always important to have an outlet to communicate with others about your frustrations. Bottling up your emotions will ultimately lead to a mental breakdown. As for peer pressure, I always bear in mind that I am vulnerable to peer pressure, and should always exercise caution when I make new friends. Similarly, when it comes to affairs of the heart, I deliberate over entering into a relationship to avoid unnecessary heartaches. Only when I become more mature and responsible should I seriously think about a romantic involvement. Finally, the various obstacles we face are there for a good reason. As the aphorism goes, “Life is a succession of lessons which must be lived to be understood. ” Once I learned how to cope with each and every problem, I will become stronger and more able to deal with the challenges ahead. Although adolescence may not always be smooth-sailing, it is still a very special phase to be cherished.