Flooding crisis in Bangkok, Thailand

Every year, approximately three out of ten pregnancies in the world result in an abortion, including legal and illegal abortions (World Health Organization: WHO). Many are suffering due to the abortion ban in some countries. For example, Rosaura Almonte Hernández was diagnosed with leukaemia, a type of blood cancer. According to her mother, doctors refused to treat her with chemotherapy because she was pregnant. They also refused to end the pregnancy as it was against the law, so she could not receive treatment. Rosaura Almonte Hernández died in 2012, when she was only 16 years old (Wurth). For millions of women, girls, and those who could become pregnant, abortion is a basic healthcare need (Amnesty International). So, should abortion be legal? The answer is yes. Abortion should be legal to provide people with their fundamental human rights, improve the parent and the child’s mental health, and prevent unsafe abortions. Firstly, it is a human right for a person to decide what to do with their body and future. “Human rights give people the freedom to choose how they live'' (The Advocates for Human Rights). If a person is not ready to take care of a new life, we should not force them since it is a violation of their freedom. United Nations experts agree that not only does refuse abortion threatens the human rights of women, girls and those who may become pregnant, but it may also lead to torture, similar to rape situations where a person is compelled to carry an unwanted baby (Braunschweiger and Wurth). In addition, “Comprehensive reproductive health services, including abortion, are necessary to guarantee the right to life, health, privacy, and non-discrimination for women and girls” (Center for Reproductive Rights). Denying medical services to only a group of people who need that care is a form of discrimination. Even though it is a human right to choose what to do with one's body, many are still pressured to have an unwanted child, which affects their life and mental health. An unwanted child will interfere with women's circumstances and affecting both the mother and the child’s mental health. According to a study, 74% of women reasoned that having a child would interfere with their education, work or ability to care for dependents; 73% stated that they could not afford a baby now (Finer et al. ). Hence, if they cannot access abortion, it could jeopardise their education and work. Instead of going to work or school, they would have no choice but to stay home and take care of a child until the child is old enough. Moreover, “An unintended pregnancy is a risk factor for poor maternal mental health including perinatal depression, stress, and lower levels of psychological well-being and life satisfaction… increases the risk of maternal depression and parenting stress” (Bahk et al. ). In other words, an unintended pregnancy can lead to an increase in negative effects on maternal mental health. Additionally, children born from unintended pregnancy also have damaging effects on their mental health and growth. According to a study, children born after an unintended pregnancy have a cognitive delay at three years old, more behavioural issues at the ages of five and seven, and more drugs use at the age of fourteen than their peers (Bahk et al. ). Childhood and parenting affect their adulthood and how they perceive themselves in the world. However, as the parent can not afford a child but is forced to have one, the child would not be raised in an ideal environment and may lead to negative long-term effects. Many claims that making abortion illegal can stop the procedure, yet it is proven that criminalising abortion doesn’t stop the practice. Instead, it leads to an increase in unsafe abortions. Every year, unsafe abortions cause 4. 7% – 13. 2% of maternal death (WHO). For example, in Brazil, where abortion is illegal, it is estimated that 250, 000 women are hospitalised every year as a result of abortion complications, with around 200 women dying from the complications (Khazan). The majority of the women there use misoprostol to terminate their pregnancy or go to an unlicensed abortion clinic. This proves that abortion is necessary whether it is banned or not, meaning that it is impossible to completely stop the procedure. Furthermore, making abortion illegal leave women no choice except to seek ways that negatively affect their health and could lead to death. Likewise, providing legal abortion lead to a decrease in death caused by the procedure. For instance, in America, since the Supreme Court legalized abortion across the country in 1973, the number of deaths linked to unsafe abortion plummeted from 39 to 5 between 1972 and 1974 (Guttmacher Institute). It shows that after abortion was legal, the procedure was safer and death linked to unsafe abortion decreased about 87. 2%. Therefore, making abortion illegal will cause an increase in unsafe abortion and maternal death. In conclusion, abortion should be legal since people can freely choose what they want to do for their bodies and futures without fear or stigma. Legal abortions protect people's human rights, improve the mental wellbeing of parents and children, and reduce unsafe abortions. Since abortion is a basic health care need, it is almost impossible to stop this procedure. With that said, criminalizing abortion puts a person's human rights at risk as they are discriminated against. The parent and child wellbeing will also be severely affected. Besides, many have to seek unsafe abortions due to abortion bans, which will result in severe health consequences. Banning abortion kills women. Thus, give women, girls and people who can become pregnant a choice to abortion without stigma and discrimination as they are more than capable of making their own moral decisions while weighting their circumstances. So, what are you waiting for? Join the Abortion rights movement now!