The study of literary choice among two sections of people

The author assumes that since the two studies have shown differing results the resopndents in the first study had misepresented their reading habits. This argument relies on three assumptions, that if not supported by specific evidence can significantly weaken the argument. The author must provide with specific data that the first study conducted was not flawed. It could be possible that the surveyors from University of Waymarsh, conducted their survey during a literary classics’ fest. Hence, the data which they collected would be skewed towards people who prefer literary classics as their reading material. Thus, eventhough the respondents in the first study didn't want to misrepresent their reading habits, it would seem as if they were trying to misguide the surveyers. Therefore, the author must provide specific evidence that the study was held in an impartial environment where there is no possible skewing of data. Secondly, the author must come up with proof that the preferences of people is same for what books they check out of the public libraries. It might be possible that the readers usually prefer to read literary classics when they are at the library with other people, and they prefer to check out the mystery novels to read at their home, or during their leisure time. Therefore, the author must present with evidence that there is no preference among the people, and they read similar books while in the library and while checking out the books. Finally, the author must give evidence that the period between both studies is not very long. It can be possible that when the first study was taking place, literary classic was the most popular genre and majority of the people would read them. But, since the second study took place 15 years after the first study there was a big change in the reading habits and now people love reading mystery novels, thus it can be possible that due to a change in common interests of the people the reading habits have been changed. Hence, the author must provide evidence regarding the duration between both studies to strengthen his argument. Hence, the author must provide the above given evidence to buttress his assertion that respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits. If the author fails to provide the above stated pieces of evidence, then his assertion would be seriously flawed.