whether to learn history in school

It is arguable whether to learn history or to learn more realistic subjects is more important. I believe that it is necessary for student to have curriculum related to real life, but the significance of history shouldn't be neglected. Learning history is essential to develop an understanding of the world and help form students' perception about the world. History is about what we have done in the past, by learning history events and what consequences the events caused, we can better understand the regular of the social development and how different current affairs can form a different kind of society. In such case, students could really understand what they should do to create a better future. For example, there were several times in China when the ancient emperor burnt all kinds of books and killed anyone who spoke against him, the ruin of culture and freedom speech always directly led to the end of the dynasty. At the same time, learning subject like accountance, biology and computer science that related to life is also of great importance as students finally need to face the real world and start their own career. If students don't learn any practical skills at school, they may find it hard to figure out what kind of job interests them the most and what major subject they should choose when enter the university. For example, a student who has never learnt biology will hardly consider occupations like the doctor or medicine researcher that related to it. In my opinion, students should learn both history and other more pratical subjects when they're in primary school and secondary school, when they are able to tell where their intersts are, they can decide to go further on which one. One of the most important purposes of education is to help student cultivate their life-long interest and then impart the related knowledge, if schools drop any important subjects without thorough consideration, students might not be able to realise their full potential.