copetition and coorperation

It is arguable whether to encourge children to compete or to co-operate. In my opinion, both competition and co-operation cannot be neglect in the current society. Competition can motivate children to behave better in study. It is in human nature that we always want to be the winner. When teachers introduce a competition methology in class, they can give children aims to study harder than the other pupils. When having an aim, children tend to take initiative to learn and have more interest in study when teachers give them positive feedback. For example, if teachers give presents to students who gain best performance in academic tests, students will be more industrious on study to earn the gift. On the other hand, co-operative skill is essential for future career life. In modern society, there are a lot of different positions in a company and each position requires different occupational skills. Employees need to know how to co-operate with their colleagues in different functions to complete a task together. In a company, we have to work together with Finance department to get an invoice reimbersed and with IT department to get the computers fixed. Besides, promotion in a big orgnisation always requires social networking, which also relates to smooth co-operation with others before. So I think co-operate is as important as competition when it refers to adult life. In conclusion, while competition is of great importance for students when in school, knowing how to co-operate is a dispensable skill in future career for children.