the similarity and difference between online learning and face-to-face learning in university xgyyg

The 21st century is the age of education becoming a vital part of one’s life. Education is a key process that plays a significant role in molding someone skills, knowledge, and personality. Nowadays, the demand of learning is growing rapidly because of the development in technology. As a result, education in university has been divided into two ways of learning which are online learning and face-to-face learning. A number of students prefer online learning in university as it is more comfortable for them. On the contrary, some student chooses face-to-face learning as their main choice because they already used to it. In fact, online learning and face-to-face learning have their own advantages and disadvantages. The first similarity between online learning and face-to-face learning in university is both online learning and face-to-face learning in university require students’ participation in every class. As a student, we must show our participation in every class to have a better understanding and to show respect to the teacher. For example, students can voluntarily answer or ask any questions to the teacher. Besides, like online learning face-to-face learning also provided students with assignments and tasks. Assignments and tasks are still provided to the students because that is one of the way to know the student’s capability and understanding throughout the semester. Other than that, the consultation hours with lecturers are still the same whether it is online learning or face-to-face learning. In fact, the working hours for lecturer remained the same even though the class conducted through online platform. For this reason, students should respect lecturer’s privacy and ask permission from the lecturer before the consultation. Furthermore, both online learning and face-to-face learning needs students to have good time management. For example, students in online class need to manage their time between study and university activities while during offline class, they need to divide their time between study and chores. Finally, not only online learning but face-to-face learning will be assessed by a lecturer. Lecturer remained as the instructor that will guide the students throughout the semester. Meanwhile, the difference between face-to-face learning and online learning is the environment of learning and teaching. If the class conducted through online, students would have full control for the environment. Indeed, they will have the flexibility compared to the face-to-face class. It is because, mostly offline class will be taught in the same space likes tutorial building or laboratory. Besides, face-to-face learning will cost a lot of money unlike online learning. Undoubtedly, offline class requires students to pay more than online class. As illustration, they must pay for tuition fee, and money for foods and drinks. Unlike online class, majority of students will stay with their parent. That means, they do not to pay for hostel fees, foods, and transportation. Moreover, students will have better peer interactions during face-to-face learning compared to online learning. Furthermore, teaching method during online learning involved asynchronous and synchronous class while face-to-face learning only involved synchronous class. In contrast, online learning will help students improve their technological skills, whereas face-to-face learning will only focus on physical interactions.