Remittance inflow prospects and challenges

For the first time in the country's history, remittance inflow crossed the $24 billion mark in a single fiscal year, a development that has given a breathing space to the government to absorb the economic shocks deriving from the coronavirus pandemic. Migrant workers continued to use formal channels sidestepping the hundi system to send home massive amounts of money. The global hundi cartel, which operates an illegal cross-boundary financial system, has been facing a major disruption since the first quarter of 2020 as the international travelling came to a halt because of the pandemic, fuelling the growth of remittances. Beneficiaries of remittances can easily receive remittance through mobile financial services and agent banking outlets. This has also undermined the hundi system, The 2 per cent cash incentive introduced by the government in 2019 has also encouraged the expatriate Bangladeshis to send more money through the formal channel. Besides, different banks have also given some facilities, including easy technical services. An increase in earnings per migrant worker may also have contributed. Most of the increase in remittances this year so far has come from Saudi Arabia, Oman, the UK and the US. Base salaries in Saudi Arabia grew 4. 5 percent, reportedly the highest in the region. Wage growth in Oman has remained strong, averaging 11. 4 percent. In the UK and the US wages increased by 3. 2 and 3. 6 percent respectively by the end of October 2019. Studies show that remittances tend to rise during downturn phases in the economic cycle. Migrants send more money home to support their financially distressed families. Thus, if the domestic income of the families left behind falls, migrant workers tend to compensate the fall by increasing the amount remitted and vice versa. GDP growth in FY07 was about 0. 38 percentage points higher than in FY06 and 0. 96 percentage points lower in FY09 relative to FY08. While the latter is consistent with strong remittance growth, the former is not. Despite the reduction of outgoing workers, the remittance flow saw a constant rise thanks to some initiatives of the government and bank authorities. The inflow of remittance, one of the main barometers of the economy, continues to rise at a time when the outflow of migrant workers for jobs abroad dropped by 69 per cent year-on-year in 2020. Around 7-8 lakh Bangladeshis used to go abroad every year searching for jobs before the pandemic. But, only 2. 17 lakh people found employment in other countries last year and 1. 95 lakh so far this year, data from the Bureau of Manpower, Employment and Training showed. The majority of migrant workers are unskilled, and they are facing challenges abroad. The government should take initiatives to provide training to those who intend to go abroad for jobs.