The separation of bright students into special classes has become a contentious issue in the Vietnamese press today. What is your opinion on this question?

The question of whether gifted students should be seperated or not has become a controversial issue. From my point of view, I am of the opinion that this separation is a wise arrangement for the following reasons/ on the following grounds. Initially, the intellectual ability to gain the knowledge a problem may vary from one person to another, and this interfere with learning activities in class. Realities show that it is hard to teach mixed-ability classes. For one thing, if teachers spend to much time explaining trivial points to weaker students, brilliant ones may lose their interest and concentration. For another, weaker students will have difficulties in following the lessons and feel left behind in the lesson for stronger students. As a solution to such problem, what needs to be done is to divide students into different classes on the basis of their learning ability. Another point is that, such separating good students from below average students increases the teaching quality considerably. Not having to divide attention among different levels of students, the teachers can focus their mind on a specific teaching approach, which all students can benefit from. For example, in an average class, the teacher can spare time for explanation and clarification of simple things whereas in a class of brilliant students, the emphasis may be on further practice and advanced excercises. Consequently, students can make the best use of their time in suitable classes to enrich their knowledge.